Phyllis Theroux–A Writing Prompt

To send a letter is a good way to go somewhere without moving anything but your heart.

Phyllis Theroux

Prompt:  What does this quote mean to you?

In our modern age I would say that this is completely true. You don’t have to go anywhere to send an email or text. A few clicks and clacks and ta-da you’re done. Verses digging out the stationary, writing your message, maybe re-writing it because you goofed here and there then making a trip to the post office. I guess you could have just stuck the letter in your mail box and flipped the flag. The ease of modern communication makes messages seem…cheap. It doesn’t take long to compose them, half the time they are not even written properly. I know I have re-read some texts because I cannot decipher them the first time due to misspellings or shortened words.

Since I find messages to be impersonal I guess I disagree with the quote. Then again, I’m considering communication in general and not a traditional letter.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

