It’s Time for the Snowy Reading Bloghop

Even though it’s not snowing in my location, we’re actually having a warm spell, I decided I’d participate anyway in the Snowy Reading Bloghop.  This bloghop features a main character interview.

So, I’ll be interviewing Lydia Miller the twenty-seven-year-old star from The Great Storms.

The Great Storms1.Tell us a little about yourself.

Funny you should say that, I’ve spent months pondering the same question. Doubting myself and trying to come up with ways to rationalize my situation. Now that I know the truth it’s like there’s everything and nothing to tell. So, I’ll keep it short. I was born in Michigan and raised by my mother. Did the typical thing, I suppose: went to college, met a guy, got pregnant. Then Jeremiah and I went our separate ways because I thought he was crazy. He didn’t feel the same way so I moved to Florida. While in Florida something odd happened and I found myself in a village called Faith. From there it’s been…I’d rather not talk about it right now.

  1. Do you enjoy or dislike winter? Tell us why.

I like it. Hell, I’d love to see some snow right now. The jungle is always so hot. I remember dreading the winter, always having to scrape snow off my car, slipping on ice, now I’d love to hold a snowball.

  1. What would you do on a date (or with close friends) on a snowy evening?

Jeremiah once took me ice skating. It was cute, I suppose. I wasn’t a born figure skater to put it nicely, but I managed to stay on my feet.

  1. When it’s cold and dreary outside, what makes you laugh out loud?

Jeremiah used to make me laugh; it’s part of the reason I fell in love with him. Then there was Andy, he loved the winter. He only got to experience it for a few years before we moved to Florida.

  1.  If you were sitting around a fire, playing truth or dare, what would you choose and why?

Ha, truth. I’d want to ask my ex-husband why he thought the way he did. I’d want answers, diagrams—some kind of explanation that would make me believe what he was saying. Perhaps if he could have convinced me, my life would have turned out differently.

  1. Tell us about a winter memory from your childhood?

Strolling through the park while it was snowing. I used to have dreams about it in the clinic. My mother had a great appreciation for nature. I suppose it must have rubbed off on me somewhere, mostly in my subconscious. I understand now, little late, nothing I can do about it. But I do remember walking with her, enjoying the cold weather, the quiet and then feeling warm and safe back at the house.

  1. What is the most creative gift you would put under the tree?

I once used my Easy Bake oven to make my mom a Christmas cake. It probably would have turned out had she not shook the box before opening it.

  1. Would you start a snowball fight?

Oh yes, I would. I’d start one right now if there was snow. I’d love to chuck a few at Leader.

  1. Tell us about your favorite winter movie or book?

Mm, I don’t remember any. Well, we used to watch A Christmas Story in school but that was so long ago. We don’t have books now just Migale’s Bible, and I doubt anyone knows what a TV is. I’m sure in the city they have huge celebrations, but I’m never going back. I’d rather sit around the fire, here, and listen to stories.

  1. How do you celebrate the holidays? Be it Christmas or Hannaukah or the Winter Solstice.

Before I came to Faith we used to celebrate Christmas by exchanging presents. My mom would set up a big tree, bake all the sweets you could think of and we’d just spend time together. She’d usually bring up politics or the latest environmental movement. She liked talking about things like that. Or she’d talk about Jeremiah, she liked him too. She loved Andy and of course he was all about the gifts. I don’t blame him, he was young. Although, I hope we taught him something about Christmas’s true meaning.

If you’d like to read more about The Great Storms check out the page on the top of my blog or just click here.  To access the bloghop’s Linky list click on the Snow Reading Bloghop image.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “It’s Time for the Snowy Reading Bloghop

  1. Great interview, her story sounds very intriguing.

  2. Lydia sounds like a strong and determined woman. I’d like to learn more about her life in, Faith. Great interview.

  3. So glad I stopped in to meet Lydia! She sounds quite interesting.

    I’ll be posting my Character Interview on the 10th. Hope to see you at The Write Game then.

Leave a Reply

