3 Hour Glucose Test=Bang My Head Against the Wall

Alright long story short: I’m pregnant again and failed my 1 hour glucose test. I guess I shouldn’t be too surprised; I had a cookie the morning of my test. What the hell was I thinking? Oh, yeah, that’s right, I wasn’t. Now I wish I had been—I take that back. The moment I received the letter in the mail informing me that my glucose was “elevated,” I regretted my lack of brain activity.

Am I surprised? Yeah, a little—my first pregnancy was rather normal. So, I naturally expected this one to generally follow the same pattern and be A-okay like some corny movie. This has definitely not been the case. Round number two has been a roller coaster filled with more twists and upside down loops than I care to handle. I’ll leave out the monstrous mood swings and get to the nitty-gritty.

Differences between pregnancy #1 and pregnancy #2:

A)     I haven’t been very careful with my diet. (Sugar, sugar, sugar.)

B)      Nor have I exercised regularly.

C)      I’ve also been stressed out.

D)     I had a cold for like two months.

All of these factors can have an effect on the outcome of a glucose reading (so I’ve read). Does this information make me feel better? Well, it did when I first read the letter. Now I’m worried.

Not to mention it’s 1:30am and I’m cranky about the prospect of not eating for an extended period of time. I’m not sure if I’ll even be able to take the test tomorrow. I reread the letter and apparently I was supposed to call and ask for locations and times. I was under the impression that I could use the clinic I’ve always used for my blood drawings. I guess that’s what I get for not reading carefully; then again they could have called. A phone call would have been awesome. I could have gotten my results instead of a vague word like, “elevated.” I could have had a nice conversation about the dos and don’ts of this upcoming test. Instead I’m scouring the internet reading crap.

Leave a comment

Filed under Pregnancy, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

